Electoral Commission releases final results from presidential election

The Electoral Chairperson Chairperson Justice Simon Byabakama addressing the public. THE HOMELAND MEDIA GROUP/Photo

The Electoral Commission (EC) on Thursday released final results from the presidential elections omitting results of 83 polling stations over violence, hooliganism, and destruction of voting materials at polling stations.

The polling stations are found in Kampala, Jinja, Mukono, Wakiso, Kotido, Kyotera, Rakai, Bukomansimbi, Sembabule, Bundibugyo, and Isingiro districts.

Speaking at a press briefing at the commission’s headquarters in Kampala, EC chairperson Justice Simon Byakakama explained that the law allows them to omit such results from the final tally. 

Justice Byakakama however said the omitted results would not affect the final outcome for the winner or the first runner-up in the election that was held on January 14.

On the videos going viral of electoral malpractices, the EC boss said “I keep confessing my sin; I am not on social media.”

Byakakama, however, expressed skepticism as to whether the videos were genuine.

He said the provisional results of the presidential elections were announced cumulatively in the order in which they were being received, leading to a declaration by the Commission, based on the total number of 33,461 polling stations that had been duly received and verified before the expiry of the 48 hours.

President Yoweri Kaguta Museveni scored 6,042,898 (58.38%) of the vote while the first runner-up Robert Kyagulanyi garnered 3,631,437 (35.08%).

The votes cast as invalid were revealed to be 393,500 (3.66%)  which is more votes than any of the other nine candidates received individually.

FDC’s Patrick Oboi Amuria got 337,589 votes (3.26%), ANT’s Mugisha Muntu 67, 574 (0.65%), DP’s Norbert Mao 57,682 (0.56%), Henry Tumukunde 51,392 (0.50%), Joseph Kabuleta 45,424 (0.44%), Nancy Kalembe 38,772 (0.37%), John Katumba 37,554 (0.36%), Fred Mwesigye 25,483 (0.25%), and Willy Mayambala 15,014 (0.15%).

“The Electoral Commission has since received and tallied the results of the remaining polling stations,” Byakakama said.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here