Battle for Deputy Speakership Begins, NRM nominates Six Candidates, Ssekikubo’s Last Minute Appearance Changes the Mathematical Game!

Meanwhile Hon. Theodre Sekikubo after being confirmed said he's the answer to the problems of Ugandans in Parliament.

Rwemiyaga County MP, Theodre Sekikubo who on friday confirmed his pentrance into the Deputy speakership Race for the 11th Parliament, Said, he has the answer to the problems of Ugandans in Parliament.

By Brenda Chipo Mariam

The National Resistance Movement electoral commission has nominated  Member of Parliament Rwemiyaga County in SSembabule district Theodre Sekikubo and Robinah Rwakojjo Member of Parliament Gomba West to contest for position of deputy speaker of parliament.

Cyrian Bagamba the principal elections officer of the NRM electoral commission has confirmed the nomination of the candidates after expressing their interests in the position.

Meanwhile Hon. Theodore Sekikubo after being confirmed said he’s the answer to the problems of Ugandans in Parliament.

Accordingly, on Sunday the nominated candidates will be presented to the NRM party caucus that will sit at State House Entebbe to allow candidates and official interface with electorates of which one candidate will select to hold the party flag in the main battle for the whole house 529 Elected MPs or a vote.

The same event the caucus will also vet the nominated candidates for the position of the speaker and deputy speaker of parliament where the incumbent Rebecca Kadaga will be battling with the deputy Jacobbo Oulanyah in what is believed to be a fierce battle and lines have been drowned in that regard. sofa two candidates have been nominated by the NRM.

Robinah Rwakojjo after being confirmed said she is fabulous for this position and a good listener to all.

“I have to work as a harmonizing agent to all party members at parliament” says Rwakojjo with excitement at Kyadondo in Kampala.

The total of six contests of deputy speakers of parliament are all vying for this juicy position.

The other candidates that have been confirmed on the post of the deputy speaker of parliament include Hon Robinah Nabanja Member of Parliament Kakumiro district and Jacob Oboth Oboth Member of Parliament West Budama central, Member of Parliament Thomas Tayebwa, and Among Annet.

Election of the Speaker and Deputy will be on 24th at Kololo independence grounds and the event will be presided over by chief justice who will be sworn in the speaker elect and then hands over power to a new speaker who will, in turn, swear in the deputy speaker elect respectively. and the first sitting of the 11th parliament begins.

How the Speaker and Deputy Speaker Elec­tion is handled:

Ar­ti­cle 82(4) of the Con­sti­tu­tion pro­vides that, “no busi­ness shall be trans­acted in Par­lia­ment other than an elec­tion to the Of­fice of Speaker at any time that of­fice is va­cant.” In line with the Ar­ti­cle, Speaker elec­tions will be held at Par­lia­ment on the 24th of May, 202.

Un­like the usual ses­sions held in the Cham­bers, this one will be held at Kololo Ceremonial Grounds, the rea­son be­ing all the 529 Mem­bers of Par­lia­ment (MPs) could not be ac­com­mo­dated there.

The Cham­bers were built to house close to 88 MPs way back in the 1960s, how­ever, the num­bers have grad­u­ally in­creased over the years.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here