Dr.Samuel Kazimba elected new Anglican Church Archbishop


By:Nasser Kasozi
The RT Rev.Dr Samuel Stephen Kaziimba Mugalu of Mityana Diocese has been elected the new Archbishop of the Province of the Church of Uganda.
The House of Bishops is the body that elects the Archbishop and is comprised of all active Diocesan and Assistant Bishops who are currently 37 in number and on Tuesday,they went into a retreat at Lweza in Wakiso districts whose results have been announced today.
Bishop Kazimba becomes the ninth Archbishop of the Church of Uganda to replace the Most Rev. Stanley Ntagali as the church’s 9th Archbishop whose tenure expires in March 2020.

According to the Church of Uganda constitution, the Archbishop can serve for only 10 years or leaves upon clocking 65 years.
Ntagali has served for only seven and a half years because was elected and enthroned as Archbishop on 16th December 2012 at the age of 57 and will be turning 65,the mandatory retirement age on March ,1, 2020.
former Archbishop of the provincial church of uganda since its inception,

  1. Leslie Brown, a British missionary and was the first Archbishop of Uganda, Rwanda, Burundi, and Boga-Zaire (1961-1966)
  2. Erica Sabiti (1966 – 1974)
  3. Janani Luwum (1974 – 1977)
  4. Silvanus Wani (1977 – 1983). In 1980, Rwanda, Burundi, and Boga-Zaire became a separate, Francophone Province, and Uganda became its own Province.
  5. Yona Okoth (1983 – 1995)
  6. Livingstone Mpalanyi-Nkoyoyo (1995 – 2004)
  7. Henry Luke Orombi (2004 – 2012)
  8. Stanley Ntagali (2012-2020)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here