Mpuuga named Leader of Opposition, Nambeshe Chief Whip

Mpuuga replaces FDC’s Betty Aol Achan whose party no longer makes majority opposition in Parliament.

Incoming Leader of Opposition Hon.Mathias Mpuuga [NUP] Courtesy/Photo

By Amina Nabuule

The National Unity Platform (NUP) Vice President for Buganda Region Mathias Mpuuga has been appointed the Leader of Opposition in the 11th Parliament.

Mpuuga replaces FDC’s Betty Aol Achan whose party no longer makes majority opposition in Parliament.

Also appointed is the Manjiya County legislator John Baptist Nambeshe, who becomes the opposition chief whip replacing FDC’s Ibrahim Ssemujju Nganda.

Busiro East County Member of Parliament Medard Ssegona will now head the Public Accounts Committee and will be deputised JEEMA’s Asuman Basalirwa.

Mityana Municipality MP Zaake Francis Mutebi becomes the Parliament Commissioner, replacing FDC’s Francis Mwijukye while Nakawa West MP Joel Ssenyonyi becomes chairman COSASE (Committee on Commissions, Statutory Authorities and State Enterprises) which was initially under FDC’s Mubarak Munyagwa.

On Thursday, NUP Secretary General David Lewis Rubongoya told reporters that the party felt they were running out of time and would come up with a decision on Friday.

Incoming Opposition Chief Whip John Baptist Nambeshe Mp Mnjiya County.

Full list:

Leader of Opposition in Parliament– Mathias Mpuuga (Nyendo Mukungwe)

Opposition chief whip – John-Baptiste Nambeshe (Manjiya County)

Deputy chief opposition whip – Manjeri Kyebakutika (Jinja City Woman MP)

Commissioner of Parliament – Francis Zaake Butebi (Mityana Municipality)

Chairperson, Public accounts committee– (Medard Lubega Segona (Busiro East)

Vice chairperson, public accounts committee – Asuman Basalirwa (Bugiri Municipality)

Chairperson COSASE – Joel Ssenyonyi (Nakawa West)

Vice Chairperson, COSASE – Lucy Akello (Amuru District Woman MP)

Chairperson, Government Assurances – Betty Nambooze Bakireke (Mukono Municipality)

Committee (GAC)

Vice Chairperson, GAC – Joseph Gonzaga Sewungu (Kalungu County West)

Chairperson, Local Government Accounts committee – Martin Ojara Mapenduzi (Bardeg-Layibi constituency, Gulu District)

Vice Chairperson, Local Government Accounts committee – Paulson Luttamaguzi Ssemakula (Nakaseke South County)

Representative, Pan-African parliament – Patrick Nsamba Oshabe (Kassanda County North)

Representative, Commonwealth Parliamentary Association – David Kalwanga Lukyamuzi (Busujju County)

Representative, Inter-Parliamentary union – Flavia Kalule Nabagabe (Kassanda District Woman MP)

Parliamentary Pension Fund – Aisha Kabanda (Butambala District Woman MP)

NUP also seconded Jolly Mugisha, the NUP deputy President for Western region to the National Consultative Forum (NCF) as its Deputy Chairperson.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here