Parliament vets new ministers rejects one Kafuzi


By Nasser Kasozi

The Parliament appointments Committee chaired by Speaker Rebecca Kadaga has on Friday 03 January 2020 vetted the new ministers nominated by President Yoweri Museveni during a Cabinet reshuffle in December 2019.

In the mid of December 2019 president Museveni reshuffled his cabinet and appointed new ministers who include, commissioners Ogwang Ogwang, Robina Nabbanja, and other nominees Hamson Obua, Judith Nabakooba, Jackson Kafuzi, Beatrice Anywar, Hellen Adoa, Molly Kamukama, and Raphael Magyezi.

Although the President made several changes in the reshuffle, it is only the persons new to the Cabinet that were required to appear before the House Committee as the others got their approval when they were first nominated.

The Mityana district woman MP Judith Nabakooba, who was nominated the Minister of Information Communication Technology and National Guidance, was formerly the Chairperson Committee on Defence and Internal Affairs in Parliament, and also served as a Police spokesperson.

The Kakumiro district woman MP Robinah Nabbanja and Hon. Peter Ogwang (Usuk), who have both been Parliamentary Commissioners, who were nominated as State Ministers for Health (General Duties) and ICT and National Guidance respectively.

“I’m ready to work with the journalists and ask the government to provide information to the country. Specifically, on the areas of innovations in ICT we have to move the country to the next level of technology,” Ogwang said.

Igara west Legislator Raphael Magezi nominated the Minister of Local Government. As a private member, he successfully moved a Constitution (Amendment) Bill that lifted age limits for presidential candidates.

Hon. Denis Hamson Obua (Ajuri), a former Parliamentary Commissioner, was given the State for Sports docket.

He said that the task ahead of him would be to get to know the different sports federations that he will be in charge of the promised to improve sports activities in Uganda through empowering young people to embrace talents and lobby stakeholders to support the sports fraternity through providing technical and financial support.

“I would have to move to all the federations so as to understand and appreciate the environment in which they are working,” he said adding that “I will also tour all sports facilities both national and regional in order to appreciate their predicaments, their conditions, and situations, interact with the respective local governments to get the way forward,” Obua said while addressing the press at parliament.

Obua further promised to work with all the stakeholders to ensure that fights in the sports sector are minimized and ensure correct professional means of solving disputes in the sports industry.

Obua noted that he is aware of inadequate funds in the industry but promised to lobby the government and private sector to increase the budget for the sports sector budget.

The Kitgum Municipality Member of Parliament Beatrice Anywar (Independent), was nominated the Minister of State for Environment, formerly belonged to the Opposition, where she was a strong environmental advocate.

Anywa was nicknamed Mama Mabira for her endless love to conserve the environment she served as shadow minister for environment and also actively participated in the save mabira campaign that paralyzed business in Kampala and led to the killing of some Indian in 2009 when they were protesting against mabira give away to a sugar manufacturer Madhivani.

The Serere District Woman Representative, Hon Helen Adoa defeated Alice Alaso now of Alliance for National Transformation (ANT) for Mugisha Muntu, Helen Adoa recently was appointed as State Minister for Fisheries she was the last person to appear before the Appointments Committee.

Molly Kamukama, who was nominated to become the Minister of State for Economic Monitoring was the Principal Private Secretary to the President.

The Kyaka South Member of parliament Jackson Kafuuzi, one of the architects and seconders of the Age Limit Bill, was nominated to serve in the capacity of the office of Deputy Attorney General.

However, news coming in from reliable sources the appointments committee seems to have rejected the appointment of Jackson Kafuuzi who was recently been appointed by President Museveni to serve as deputy attorney general is still under scrutiny as the committee is not satisfied with his ability to handle that docket.

Article 113(1) of the Constitution states that ‘Cabinet ministers shall be appointed by the President with the approval of Parliament from among MPs or persons qualified to be elected Members of Parliament’.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here