NRM finally Releases Electoral Roadmap tight schedule for members a head of 2021 polls

Tanga Odoi the NRM Chairperson addressing the press at an event where the 2021 Party Road map were released at Party Headquarters in Kampala on Friday 17th July 2021.PHOTO BY Innocent Kayiza

By Innocent Kayiza

As Uganda prepares for the upcoming elections in 2021, Different political actors and parties are currently busy drawing strategies on how they will winning the different elective positions. 

Now after approval by the Central Executive Committee, Tang Odoi, the chairman of the NRM Electoral Commission has released the Road Map that will be followed by all the NRM electorates and the flag bearers. 

Briefing the media at the NRM Secretariat on plot 10 Kyadondo, Odoi revealed that on the 20th of July 2020, the NRM secretary General will hand over the NRM register to the electoral Commission and this will be followed by a phased issuance of forms to the district election officers in line with Covid-19 guidelines between the 15th, 16th and 17th July 2020. 

This will be followed by the capacity building of election officials at district and sub county levels in line with Covid-19 SOPs. Thereafter, component two of the electoral cycle will commence through which the following will express interest and pick nomination forms;  presidential flag bearer, the NRM National chairman, the 1st National vice chairperson, the 2nd National vice chairperson, the 6 chairpersons representing Northern Karamoja. Eastern, Kampala, central and western. All this will be done between 20th – 22nd July 2020

Now between the 27th of July 2020 to 28th of the same month, the following Candidates will be nominated at the NRM Electoral Commission headquarters, the presidential flag bearer, /national chairman, the 1st National vice chairperson, the 2nd National vice chairperson, and the 6 vice chairpersons representing 6 regions. 

Beginning 7th -8th August 2020, there will be an NRM conference to be held in line with the covid-19 guidelines and the NRM presidential flag bearer will be elected. Also the 1st National vice chairperson, the 2nd National Chairperson who must be a female and the 6th regional chairpersons will also be elected. 

From 10th August to 17th August, this period will be Nominations for Members of Parliament, and LC V chairpersons in western region, Northern, West Nile, Karamoja region Eastern region and central region. After residual nominations, there will be an inspection of Candidates’ Academic credentials and loading of complaints if any by the members of the public. 

The vetting of the presidential flag bearer/National chairman, the 1st National vice chairperson, the 2nd National vice chairperson, and the vice chairpersons representing the 6 Region will take place from the 30th of July -5th August 2020. 

MPs will be voted on September 10th and on September 17th, special interest group MPs will be voted. After a series of these events, the NRM Electoral Commission will submit the list of chosen flag bearers to the Secretary General between 9th – 10th October 2020. 


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here